Respecting the customer

The Costco Lie … We Value All of Our Customers

Ada LLoyd
6 min readJul 16, 2021

Why do stores pander to rude customers while disrespecting multiple customers who play by the rules, and then expect the customer to be loyal to them?

Photo by RealKina on Unsplash

I love Costco. There are many things they do a great job of. On a recent Friday evening, every checkout line was open. That says to me that they value me and my time as a customer. Then they shoot themselves in the foot big time.

They talk, but they don’t walk. If you value me as a customer then you respect me. Respecting my time is one way you do this.

When you demonstrate an equal commitment to all of your customers then you are showing them that you value all of them. When you tell me through word and action that another customer is more important than I am, I don’t feel valued and respected. It does not inspire my loyalty. I don’t expect preferential service. I do however expect equal respect.

My Story

This particular Friday evening, I stopped by my local Costco. My intent was to pick up gift cards for a local restaurant. They didn’t have any for the restaurant I had chosen.

I figured that as long as I was there anyway, I would pick up a few items. Those few items wound up being $95.29.I chose a line and was grateful…

--

--

Ada LLoyd

“It’s not about your history, it’s about your choices” Discover how to create your unique definition of success. Learn how now https://www.adalloyd.com/7pillars